Next Event
  • Nothing scheduled at this time.

Mullens captures Central Missouri Speedway victory

Mullens captures Central Missouri Speedway victory

Central Missouri Speedway returned to weekly championship racing on a warm heart-of-summer Saturday with 85 drivers on hand for competition in the USRA Modifieds, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, Street Stocks, Midwest-Mod Lites and Pure Stocks. At the end of the night, four drivers took their first victories of the year from the five main events, which capped the night.

Sixteen USRA Modifieds signed in for action one week after the first big-money special event of the season. Two heat races decided the starting grid for the 25-lap main event later in the night and it was Gressel Racing’s new edition Tanner Mullens of Wichita, Kan., grabbing the opening heat race as Nathan Vaughn of nearby Sedalia claimed the victory in the final heat race of the night. For the main event, Mullens and Vaughn accumulated the most passing points and began the main event on row one just in front Terry Schultz and Kevin Blackburn in row two.

After lap one, Mullens led the field with Terry Schultz advancing to second by the second lap. Tim Karrick moved up to third by lap three from sixth on the grid while Blackburn held down the fourth position while Vaughn stayed inside the top five early in the race. By lap twelve, John Allen of Chanute, Kansas moved into the top five as Mullens continued to lead the filed until lap 19, when Schultz passed Mullens for the lead, dropping Mullens back to second. On lap 22, Lewis Jackson once again found the turns three and four area not to his liking as he flipped off the track and ended up on his lid; ultimately, Jackson was uninjured in the accident.

For the final restart Schultz led Mullens, Karrick, Blackburn and Allen and appeared to be on his way to his first CMS win of the year; however, bad luck struck the Sedalia driver on the white-flag lap as a mechanical issue derailed his sure-to-be victory coming off turn two. Mullens darted to the low side with Karrick moving around Schultz on the high to setup a thrilling battle to the finish between the two Kansas drivers. In the end, Mullens prevailed with Karrick coming up a bit short but recording his best finish of the year in second. It was Mullens’ first victory since taking over the Ed Gressel racing team modified.

Behind Mullens and Karrick, seventh-starting Danny Scrogham advanced from seventh to third for his best finish of the year while Schultz limped home in a field of heavy traffic to finish fourth, just in front of John Allen in fifth. Rounding out the top ten were, Jim Moody who was forced to Ben Welsch’s car as a backup who finished sixth, followed by Blackburn, David Wood, Dalton Kirk, and Lockwood, Missouri’s long-distance traveler Dwight Niehoff tenth.

Next week is Budweiser Night, once again featuring the weekly championship classes of USRA Modifieds, Out-Pace USRA B-Mods, Street Stocks, Midwest Mod-Lites and Pure Stocks set for another exciting night of racing at CMS.

On Saturday, pit gates open at 4:30, grandstands at 5, driver pill draw closes at 6:15. Warning: late drivers will not be awarded passing points. The pit meeting takes place at 6:30, hot laps roll out at 7:00 and racing begins at 7:30. General admission adults $12, Military w/I.D. and Seniors 65 to 74 $10, kids ages six to twelve $5, five years and under are free, seniors 75 and older are also free. Seniors 80 and older may receive free pit admission courtesy of promoter Earl Walls, who recently celebrated his own 80th birthday in 2017 last April! All pit passes for the weekend are $30 per person.

Keep up with CMS on Twitter @CMSgoing_green. Like us on Facebook at Join our email group by emailing Find CMS on YouTube at CMS Going Green! Keep up with CMS news and information by pointing your browser to The Website includes standings, results, schedule, news, and much more!

CMS wishes to thank its 2017 primary sponsors for their support including Cliff Harris Warrensburg Ford, Budweiser, KMZU 100.7 FM, Sunoco Race Fuels, Midwest Coatings, Better Country KIX 105.7, KSDL, and KSIS FM, Comfort Inn Warrensburg Station, KRLI FM 103.9 & KAOL 101.3 FM The Grenade, Pepsi, 610 Sports Radio Kansas City, College Town Apartments of Warrensburg, and Heartland Waste.

The list of 2017 business partners includes: Batliner Recycling, Kleinschmidt’s Western Store, OK Wheel Alignment, OK Tire Stores, Blue Springs Truck Line Inc., Brooks Auto LLC, Rick Darling Racing Engines/Head Porting, KMMO Radio, Sabre Solar LLC, KDKD Radio, LJS Graphics, Wilderness Ridge Tent & Canvas, DQ Grill & Chill of Warrensburg, Zaxby’s, Miller Lite, Victory Trophies & Plaques, Joslins Jewelry, Eickleberry Concrete & Construction,, R & B Septic Services, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Wilderness Ridge Tent and Canvas, and Seeburg Mufflers. To join the CMS business partner team, call Susan Walls at (816) 229-1338. No calls after 8 p.m. please.

For complete results, visit under the Results and Stats drop-down link and then select Results and Standings. Here you will find links to SpeedScore1 version results and PDF versions of track results by class.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

United States Racing Association
Summit Racing USRA Weekly Racing Series
Central Missouri Speedway, Warrensburg, Mo.
Saturday, June 3, 2017


1. (1) 20t Tanner Mullens, Goddard, Kan.
2. (6) 1k Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
3. (7) 92 Danny Scrogham, Peculiar
4. (3) 90 Terry Schultz, Sedalia
5. (9) 03 John Allen, Chanute, Kan.
6. (11) 6w Jim Moody, Odesa
7. (4) 26k Kevin Blackburn, Fulton
8. (10) 82 David Wood, Richmond
9. (12) 30 Kirk Dalton, Edgerton, Kan.
10. (5) 9d Dwight Niehoff, Lockwood
11. (13) 85s Tyler Shaw, Mexico
12. (2) 12v Nathan Vaughn, Sedalia
13. (15) 3j Lewis Jackson, Wellsville, Kan.
14. (8) 17k Kyle Westerhold, Blue Springs
15. (14) 96 Danny Barker, Kansas City, Kan.
DNS - 75 Gunner Martin, Sugar Creek

Fan Gear

2015 Ryan Gustin Shirt
2015 Ryan Gustin Shirt
See More

Featured Video

Follow on Facebook